The Resurrected King Is Resurrecting Me

Have you ever wondered why you didn’t just totally stop sinning after being saved? Have you ever just wondered why, if you have the power of the Holy Spirit within you and you know the right things to do and say and think, you still fall short of the glory of God? I did. I still do sometimes. But that’s why my bio and life motto I guess you could call it is “the resurrected King is resurrecting me” – because though Jesus resurrected in a moment, I am being resurrected daily. This is done through the constant practice of surrender and the constant process of sanctification. And the thing is…that’s okay, and expected, and pleasing to God. Yep, failing and getting up and trying again is pleasing to God…because I’m trying again, just not by my own strength.

God has an expectation of perfection, but He knows I will not meet it. So, He has grace. Overflowing, powerful, amazing grace. The kind that meets me right where I am, even if it’s at 21 years old, a number of years into my faith, and after failing for the millionth time at the SAME thing. Jesus’ resurrection never fails to resurrect me. Again and again.

I’m learning a lot about surrender. I first really learned about it when I learned God’s name Adoni, meaning Master; Lord. To really call Jesus your Master and Lord, you must surrender to Him – everything. Your body, your thoughts, your resources, your dreams, your hopes, your plans. 99.99% isn’t good enough; It has to be 100%. But surrendering to God isn’t like the surrender that occurs when one concedes in a competition or fight because the end result isn’t loss…it’s life. Just like how Jesus surrendered his body at the cross, his end result was life…how crazy and incredible is that?!

I’m slowly starting to realize that God doesn’t just resurrect our soul, though; He truly resurrects our bodies, thoughts, resources, dreams, hopes, and plans, too. When you surrender those things at the foot of the cross, releasing your grip on them (as scary as that is…trust me, I know), they may die with Christ, but God is faithful to resurrect them alongside his Son. They may end up looking different, just as Jesus looked different when he appeared to the apostles, but they will be full of life in the form of God’s intention and protection and blessings. For nothing is out of control when it is in God’s control.

So surrender and let God’s grace meet you where you are, and let the resurrected King resurrect you (and your bodies and thoughts and resources and dreams and hopes and plans, too).

Leave a comment